Sections       PREVIOUS PAGE

14 Trouble Shooting

Figure 43. Trouble Shooting Registration Management

#

Problem

Resolution

1

Cannot delete a registration.

You can delete a registration only if it was a manual entry (of type “Manual”). You are not permitted to delete imported or online registrations. You can exclude a registration from bracketing by enabling the “Do Not Bracket” checkbox. You can exclude a registration from publishing by disabling the “Published” checkbox.

2

Some registrations are not on the list when I publish the registration list.

A registration is included in the published registration list only if the “Publish” checkbox is enabled.

3

There are more registrations in the registration list than there are appearing in the “Brackets” tab

When the “Do Not Bracket” checkbox is enabled, the registration is not available for bracketing.

4

Cannot see a column for the new category in the registration table view.

To see a new category in the registration table view, you must either add the column using the “Change View” function, or use “Reset View” function. See Section 8 for details on how to use these functions.

5

Cannot enable a new category that was created on the local database to a registration.

When you create a new category on the local database from the “Categories” tab of the full version, you will not be able to associate a registration with the new category until after you synchronize with the central server.

6

Cannot enable a new category that was created on the server to a registration.

When you create a new category on the server (either from the “Server” tab of the full version or from the web version), you must synchronize or reload from the server to see the new category on the local database.

7

Changes to a registration that was done on the local database are lost after synchronizing.

The registration may have been modified from the server just before you synchronized. If the registration was last modified from the server, the registration copy from the server overwrites registration on your local database upon synchronizing. Remember that clicking on the “Update” button on the “Update Registrant” window marks the registration as modified, even if there were no changes. It is also possible that you chose to Reload the event instead of synchronizing, in which case all data on your local database is overwritten with the server’s database.

8

Changes to a registration that was done on the web version or “Server” tab are lost after synchronizing.

The registration may have been modified from the local database just before you synchronized. If the registration was last modified from the local database, then the local registration copy is the one that is uploaded to your local database upon synchronizing. Remember that clicking on the “Submit” button on the “Update Registrant” window marks the registration as modified, even if there were no changes.

9

Category fields for some imported registrations are blank, even though these fields had values on the import file.

Categories that have fields with the type “Select” must use valid division codes in order to import that category’s configuration. If some of the registrations on the import file specify a non-existing division code under that category field, then the category field is left blank for those imported registrations.

10

Some imported registrations have incomplete category configurations after the import.

Check the registration on the import file. If you have left off a valid division code from the category field on the import file, then the category configuration will be incomplete on the imported registration. For example, if the category requires 3 division codes to be complete (for example, “WHT:SR:H”), then an imported registration with only 2 valid division codes like “WHT:SR” renders the registration incomplete after the import. Invalid division codes will also render the category incomplete.

11

Cannot see all the registration fields in the registration list.

You can add and remove registration fields from the registration table view using the “Change View” function. This function can be used on either the registration list on the local database or on the server. See Figure 8 for details on using the “Change View” function.

12

When using “Locate On Bracket” function from the table view, the resulting bracket does not have the registrant’s name anywhere.

The registration may not have been placed in the bracket even though it belongs to the bracket. In this case, the registrant’s name will appear in black in the Non-Placed to the right of the bracket. To quickly place him into the bracket, click on the “Re-load Bracket” at the bottom of the bracket view.

13

A registration is showing up in red in the table view.

When a registrant’s name is displayed in red in the Registrations tab, he is placed in a bracket where his registration is not qualified. Double click on the ID field in the table view to display the restriction that is being violated.

14

Even though the registration appears to have all the qualifications for his bracket, his registration is still appearing in red in the table view.

The value in the “Official Weight” field may not be correctly completed. The “Official Weight” value is used to flag restrictions in the Administration Software while the “Weight” value is used to restrict the submission of the online registration form. See Section 13.3 for details on the feature for copying the value of “Weight” into the “Official Weight” field.

15

Cannot see all the category fields in the table view.

The default set of columns in the table view does not include any category fields of type “Checkbox”, “Radio”, or “Input”. To view these fields in the table view, you must right mouse click in the table view and select on “Change View”. The remaining category fields should be available to add to the table view from this selection window.

16

Some registration changes that were there at the time of backup, were not there after the backup was restored.

Only changes that were saved to the local database are included in the backup. Changes that were made after the last save, but before the backup will not be included on the backup.

17

Always get an error that says “First Name” or “Last Name” is required, even though that field is not included in the “Simple Form Fields” list of the “Update Tournament” window.

The “First Name” and “Last Name” fields are mandatory for every registration on the system, so they must be included in the “Simple” tab.

LAST LIN

Sections       PREVIOUS PAGE